A&H

Verbal Unsporting Behaviour?

Mond2806

Level 7 Referee
Hi,

Had an incident today where a player shouted to his teammate “go through him!”, encouraging his teammate to put in a forceful tackle on an opponent.

I had a word with him when the ball next went out of play to stop it and there wasn’t anymore for the rest of the game.

I just wondered if anyone has any experience of effectively a player encouraging another player to play dangerously? If so, is there a threshold as to when it goes too far and what disciplinary action you should take?

As you can probably guess I’m a fairly new referee so any advice would be appreciated.

The Referee Store
When I was playing in a match about 5 seasons ago the opposition made a substitution. The player coming on had one of those knee braces on. Our centre half yells out "He's got a weak right knee lads go for his leg".
Ref quite rightly carded him (yellow in that case)

Reactions: one
Had a very stern word with a Junior manager once who told a player to ‘snap him’. These days he’d of gone but he explained it want meant in the literal sense but I didn’t care and read him the last chance saloon warning!

Argument to be made for a red card there?

Oh very much. I don't think the player was thinking (his dad played with a leg brace for years as well !!).
The match itself had been well natured to that point so it was random and out of character.

I actually think this is a massively underused part of the law that I use frequently and it helps manage the game in my opinion. Players and most staff don't understand that LOTG 12.2 clearly states "An indirect free kick is awarded if a player.....is guilty of...other verbal offences"