A&H

West Riding

WARef

Level 5 Referee
Hi There,

I am an Australian Official that has recently emigrated back to the United Kingdom. Back in Australia, I was refereeing the National Premier Leagues 18s (2nd Tier) and Western Australia State League Reserves (3rd Tier) and assistant refereeing the National Premier Leagues 1st Team. I was a Level 2 Theory Referee, (moving back before I could complete the practical assessment). I have recently received my English Accreditation back from West Riding FA and it seems I will be placed as a Level 6 Official. What sort of matches can I expect to be refereeing and assistant refereeing as a Level 6? I doubt it would be at the same standard as back in Australia but I have struggled to find any sort of information that correlates levels to appointments. Also, how does one go about promotion through the levels in England.

Thanks very much :)

The Referee Store
Thanks for the information Brian :) I was informed that I am unable to apply for promotion to Level 5 this year, as it is my first year as a Level 6. Is this the procedure for each level, or are there exceptions to this rule?

Cheers

Your first year you cant apply as you need to have completed 20 games in the season before you apply for promotion. If you get you6-5 in season 2017-18 then you'd be abelt o look at 5-4 in 2018-19.

So it's not season ant 6, go 6 to 5, season at 5, go 5 to 4 etc, just the first one.

in the UK There are a lot of (that I have met in London - mostly) East European refs that have been at national level, top level assistants, etc who have come over and been reassigned as L5, 6 or even 7, when they would have been the equivillant of 1, 2 or 3 - but that's to do with the actual standards of football being played. Level 1 in Faero Islands is the same as Level 5 / 4 in the UK .....

What type of football - Local parks, local teams, no assistants, non league. May pick up a coupe of county cup games or a FA cup line if lucky.