A&H

Safety V Rights

pankaye

Level 5 Referee
I saw a thread on an American Facebook group. a referee refused to let a u10 player play in a game because she was using a heart monitor cos apparently she has a had a chest pain previously.

Anyway, One respondent say he would also have refused to let the player play without medical clearance from the player's doctor. Another said we shouldn't be seeking the player's medical information s that's confidential, and generally speaking, we should confine to physical safety rather than medical safety of players.

is a player obliged to provide such confidential information to a referee without it breaching her human rights? is the answer different for an adult player?

The Referee Store
I was a coach of a player, 8 or 9 years old. They had a medical issue. Simply put, a weak chest.

They asked me not to use them as a goalkeeper, but his doctor recommended the sport to build his stamina.

So, here is a kid with a potential health issue. I am an unpaid volunteer coach for the season.

As an after thought, I'm sitting here thinking about liability and it never dawned on me. I just figured parents would be held liable, not me...but anyone can be sued.

As a referee, I've had coaches tell me of asthmatics on the field playing, asking me and my crew just to keep an eye out.

Should we ban the players for their personal risk? Imagine other kids reactions when they see another kid drop in a game. Is it fair to put other youth at risk playing risky players?

This is what I learned over the years. If there is a player with a health risk they made known to me and my crew, we'll watch. First sign of real trouble, I use the LOTG for injury. If they player continues to show serious signs, that player will be sent off over and over, coaches/parents/health staff called over.