A&H

Remuneration

Status
Not open for further replies.

RustyRef

Administrator
Staff member
I see your argument but there's a big difference between employing somebody and promoting volunteers. I think they are chalk and cheese.

As a previous business owner i hired and fired based on what was best for my business.
Referees at that level are absolutely not volunteers.

A&H International
Referees at that level are absolutely not volunteers.
Hotels are becoming standard now at Level 2. Step 1, it's routine. Even the apparent increase to £300 doesn't justify it. Level 2 official from the London area doing a fixture in the South West needs to leave around 10:00, if not before, for a midweek 19:45 game and then will not return back until past 15:00 the next day. £110 for two days work and 10 hours of driving.

Hotels are becoming standard now at Level 2. Step 1, it's routine. Even the apparent increase to £300 doesn't justify it. Level 2 official from the London area doing a fixture in the South West needs to leave around 10:00, if not before, for a midweek 19:45 game and then will not return back until past 15:00 the next day. £110 for two days work and 10 hours of driving.
That is insane.

On that basis these refs are more like volunteers.

Worked with a referee from Eastbourne on a Tuesday night at Torquay. They were stopping in a hotel on the way home.

That was the most extreme.Mostly the appointing, for that level of football, is reasonably sensible from what I have seen although the midweek games are, I imagine, problematic. Having to find a team referees, that is available, not too local, not too far away.

I personally think I would just slog it back and get home at 3-4am. At least I would wake up at home and could work half a day or whatever.

On that basis these refs are more like volunteers.
No. No we are not. As I have said before no registered referee is considered a volunteer. As far as for tax purposes go it is self employed.