A&H

Playful High-Jinx or Malicious Intent?

Silhouette

Target of Abuse
Level 7 Referee
Morning All,

Had a random one in my game the other day.

A player has been running his mouth (to me and the players) all game and is already on a yellow for decent.

He’s argued everything, he’s in a TERRIBLE mood and is really being a thorn in everyones side.

As a referee, I do do a lot of running backwards – but my awareness is usually really good (and I tend to cheat and use shadows)

But as I was running back ready for a goal kick – at the very last moment, I turned around and found this nuisance player bent over on his knees (not innocently tying his boots or anything) but ready in a true ‘playground’ style attempt to trip me over.

Now, I could probably have seen the funny side of it – if it had been a high spirits game – or similar.

But because I'm 97% sure he was doing it maliciously… I felt otherwise.

He got up after I caught him out and he laughed amongst his team and gave me a nice dirty look with it…

But would you have done anything in this instance.

If id actually gone over him – I *could* have seriously hurt myself.

But I dare say – this might have been the random’est thing I've ever asked – and id be surprised if anyone has had this.

Although, I do remember reading someone missed an Ambulance driving onto the pitch once… So I think anything can happen really.

How should I have handled it? I kind of bravely laughed it off – and made sure it looked like I'm not going to be phased by high jinx and that I'm here to do a job – not be the object of their amusement.

The Referee Store