A&H

Penalty Shootout Help

Andy A

Hi guys, I have my first cup game tomorrow so I have never done a penalty shootout before.

How do you guys find is the best way to write down the takers etc.

Do you ask the teams for their initial 5 takers, or do you get the complete order from 1-11.

What is your template in your ref book for the shootout?

EDIT: And yes I am aware if a team has a player sent off then the other team has to remove a player from their list.

The Referee Store
Order of takers. Don't ask its not required in law. Just as long as five different players take the kicks then crack on.

As for writing, I just use a blank bit of paper divided in half, number of player taking the pen in a column and a tick or cross if (s)he scores/misses. Keeps it nice and simple and clear, only get (minor) issues if you end up going through all 11 players and starting again.

Remember to keep your coin in your pocket for the second half, nothing worse than leaving it in the changing room at HT and potentially needing one for ET or Pens (been there and helped out the ref - as an AR)

Finally, dont say the 'P' word out loud or, sure as eggs are eggs, you'll end up with one :D

Thanks @206eddy , well explained.

Just one query, do you get their number after they have taken their kick?

Doesn't seem right to ask them to turn round and show you their number before they take the kick?

Thanks @206eddy , well explained.

Just one query, do you get their number after they have taken their kick?

Doesn't seem right to ask them to turn round and show you their number before they take the kick?

Don't ask the to turn round, ask them to tell you their number, check it as they walk away

The new laws have made it very much easier. The only word of caution is to ensure your substitutions are noted accurately, as you no doubt know it's only those on the field of play at the end of the game that can participate.

Last edited: