RefSix

Leeds vs Frank Lampard’s Derby County

WilliamD

Well-Known Member
#3
I THINK there was a player in an offside position who came back onside and interfered in the lead up...i’m wondering if the flag was up then and the ref missed it. Barring that it is a hugely hugely embarrassing offside call as it isn’t even close.

EDIT - it’s 1:17 through 1:20 on the match clock in the clip. The forward most attacker comes back and interferes?
 

Big Cat

RefChat Addict
#4
I'm guilty of not noticing a flag occasionally, but then I'm L7 and not mice'd up
Assuming the flag was for the the attempted headed, I wouldn't class that as a 'challenge', as the player badly misjudged the flight of the ball. Assuming the flag was for something later, then that's a really poor decision
Not good :poop:
 

QuaverRef

I used to be indecisive but now i'm not so sure
#5
I THINK there was a player in an offside position who came back onside and interfered in the lead up...i’m wondering if the flag was up then and the ref missed it. Barring that it is a hugely hugely embarrassing offside call as it isn’t even close.
I think it’s for Roofes interference from the long ball upfield. Maybe a late flag or ref didn’t notice?
 

Big Cat

RefChat Addict
#7
Judging by the AR's position with the flag aloft, I don't think it was for the attempted header
The flag was wrong either way, just a measure of how bad it was imo
 

QuaverRef

I used to be indecisive but now i'm not so sure
#8
Judging by the AR's position with the flag aloft, I don't think it was for the attempted header
The flag was wrong either way, just a measure of how bad it was imo
If it was for the replay shown it’s wrong but now sure how you’d consider the header a wrong decision for offside? Badly timed or not, it still would have impacted the central defender behind him
 

RustyRef

Administrator
Staff member
#15
I suspect the flag went up for the first ball forward where the attacker was probably offside, although it was incredibly tight. Yes, the referee didn't stop play but he still didn't stop play after the final pass and awarded a penalty even though his assistant was stood with his flag up. Even after giving the penalty it took him some time to finally see the flag and reverse the penalty.

Whether a mistake from the AR or not, it is very poor refereeing not to see your assistant stood with his flag up for so long. Can only assume comms and buzzers both failed, but even so he should sill be looking across.
 
Top