A&H

First Game Tomorrow

Stan Beal

Level 7 Referee
Hi everyone,

I'm a 17 year old referee and it's my first game tomorrow - an U16 girls game. Does anyone have any tips or advice? Especially as regards to the general procedure before the game, ie. how long before KO I should turn up, my routine etc. I feel like even though I know the Laws well I'm not especially confident on applying them in practice.

Thanks in advance.

The Referee Store
Hi Stan, welcome.

Tomorrow, aim to get there between an hour and 45 minutes before the game. Better to be early with time to kill than be late and be rushing. I would suggest don't be pedantic with kit checks beforehand etc...feel out what the situation requires. If possible, speak to a referee from the same league and ask what is normally done before each game. Routine wise, it's up to you to figure that out I guess but run through it in your head on the way to the game, and go over what you want to say to the captains beforehand, which should help with any nerves. Definitely introduce yourself to both managers and do a brief pitch inspection/wander & net check before you call the captains in.

Act confident, even if you don't feel it! The way you are perceived initially can make a big difference so walk tall and sell yourself as an experienced referee even though you aren't :)

Most importantly...enjoy it. Chances are you'll come away with a few things that you would have done differently but your first game is always tough as you are feeling out new ground. Let us know how it goes!

Good luck!

Stan, good luck - and just go out to enjoy...