It was, but what on Earth do you want him to do? Just stay standing and continue trying to twist like a piece of pray wrapped up by a boa constrictor, or go down and win a penalty which(if we’re being honest) just wouldn’t be given with out going down. Give the pen a second before he goes down, because the foul was already being committed then.
Agreed. We talk about Salah finding an "opportunity to go down", but ignore the fact that the referee had multiple "opportunities" to blow the whistle and award the penalty before Salah went down and didn't do so.
Maybe we can be charitable and suggest that perhaps the referee was waiting to see if an advantage developed? Personally, I doubt it - if he'd stayed up and laid the ball back to a teammate, or played it off an opponent for a corner, there isn't a chance that penalty would have been given IMO.