A&H

Can you ever be to strict

StuArt reed

Level 6 Referee
Hi guys

Here's a question for you more experienced referees. I Got into a discussion today with a teams manager as I'm told as a referee I'm to strict!!. I've been refereeing since July, I always let the game flow and play as much advantage where possible and I try not to use whistle unless needed, but I don't take any mouth from players they get told once then it's a caution. My response was I'm a referee that enforces the laws of game I cannot and will not comment on how other referees handle a game. How can you ever be to strict??

The Referee Store
Stuart, are you overly obsessive of where the ball is placed on free kicks, or throw ins? Something which some club members may see this as pernickety - perhaps making them see you as being strict. Either that, or are all of the referees in your local area very experienced and so do not take much care in what they do. You then appearing on the block, enforcing the laws correctly is a bit of a strange thing for them!

No I've never been over obsessive on free kicks to speak, this game there was 6 foul throw in a row, 2 goal kicks that didn't leave area but he still seems to think I was in the wrong as "other refs " wouldn't say nothing

It seems as though it is almost a case of 'last weeks ref' again. The referees who have officiated at that club before you haven't exactly helped you. They haven't followed the LOTG correctly, and then once you show up and follow them, the clubs think you're wrong!

No I've never been over obsessive on free kicks to speak, this game there was 6 foul throw in a row, 2 goal kicks that didn't leave area but he still seems to think I was in the wrong as "other refs " wouldn't say nothing
I don't know whether you were at the RA Conference Stuart but there was a massive push on what was right in law and what football expects. IMO 6 foul throws is too many to give unless the players were hopping as they threw it.