A&H

Referee shirt - not tucked in? !!

How do you wear your shirt when refereeing?

• Always tucked in - anything else is slovenly.

Votes: 51 94.4%
  • Either or. Depends on how I feel. .

Votes: 1 1.9%
  • Never tucked in. There's no law against it.

Votes: 2 3.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Kes

I'll Decide ...
Just before Christmas and the rain, I (briefly) watched a local Level 5 referee doing a match near my home. I couldn't at first figure out what it was about him that seemed odd and then I realised - his shirt was over his shorts!! :eek:
I'm no expert in these matters and I'm not aware of anything in the LOTG that says a referee's shirt should be tucked in but.......surely it should be tucked in..........shouldn't it? :oops: :)

The Referee Store
FA Policy:
"You should aim to be neat in appearance without looking over-dressed or showy and should make sure that your kit fits comfortably".

I agree though, I've always worn both football and ref tops tucked in. As a referee, it looks a great deal smarter and more professional.

Always tucked my shirt in when I played football. Always tuck my shirt in when I play cricket. Always tuck my shirt in when I ref. It's a very easy thing to do that makes you look more professional and at least makes you look like you're taking what you're doing seriously.

Shirt over shorts when playing natch - instant Glenn Hoddle in his pomp - adds about 25% to me own ability
Shirt over shorts when officiating - instant loss of match control - total embarrassment

Drives me crazy when I see colleagues looking slack. It is usually accompanied by head down, lazy arms... I promise this season I will have words when I see a colleague next door or in the previous match who has not remembered this (we get told to tuck in by our league).

Reactions: Kes
as a player shirt out... makes me feel edgy:)
as a ref or AR, tucked in at all times
socks up, even when i'm warming up