RefSix

WOL v LIV goal kick procedure

deusex

RefChat Addict
#1
Anyone see this in the 18 minute?
Referee appeared to order a retake after the wolves attacker closed down the defender who had received the short goal kick, but in doing so cut through the penalty area to get to him, before the ball was in play.
I'm fairly confident this is not an offence
 
Last edited:

Ciley Myrus

RefChat Addict
#2
am watching it

If an opponent who is in the penalty area when the goal kick is taken, or enters the penalty area before the ball is in play, touches or challenges for the ball before it has touched another player, the goal kick is retaken.

is the law. Its stretching it to say he was challenging ! Just before it though the original gk was retaken as the ball never left the area before the Liverpool player touched it...maybe the ref was just on a roll
 

deusex

RefChat Addict
#7
Here's the example from the UEFA instruction videos where they say the kick should be retaken. Basically the same distance away.

Interesting.
I would say the wording does not match what the pic tells us. Is cutting through the penalty area really "challenging"?
I'd say the challenging doesn't happen till he's out the other end.
 
Last edited:

cwyeary

RefChat Addict
#9
its certainly makes other interpretations of challenging a bit more interesting
Why? The word deliberate has different meanings and interpretations in the laws. Challenging is no different. Challenging an opponent for offside doesn't need to be the same as challenging during a goal kick. It's just a limitation of the language.
 

Ciley Myrus

RefChat Addict
#10
Why? The word deliberate has different meanings and interpretations in the laws. Challenging is no different. Challenging an opponent for offside doesn't need to be the same as challenging during a goal kick. It's just a limitation of the language.

no, its open season for interpretation......
 
#11
This is so rare, I think it's smart to blow early if there's an attacker in the penalty area when the GK is taken and there's a chance there might be a challenge. It's gonna get messy and this is a bit of a weak spot in the book, isn't it? Will the law change and to allow short GKs...?
 
#12
While a new clause was added recently to address the scenario of an opponent who was in the penalty area challenging for the ball or touching it before another player has done so, even outside the area, it has been an offence ever since 1948, for an opponent to be inside the penalty area before the ball is in play.

Although different forms of wording have been used, the current law puts it as follows:
Opponents must be outside the penalty area until the ball is in play
So whether the opponent actually challenges for the ball or not, they have committed an offence by simply being in the penalty area before the ball has left the area. It's just that in most cases - and when them being there didn't actually affect matters, most referees were ignoring the opponent, especially if it was a quick kick and the opponent hadn't had a chance to retreat outside the area. It seems to me the new clause was added because more and more incidents were occurring where opponents who were not in the area when the kick was actually taken, were cutting across the corner to close the ball down. The new clause was an attempt to make it clear that challenging for the ball even after it had left the area was still an offence but we shouldn't lose sight of the fact that just being in there before the ball has left, is already enough for it to be called, if the referee judges it so.
 
Top