A&H

TOSS OF THE COIN TO START PLAY

Craigdwhite

I am a Referee Appointments officer and have been checking assessments of junior referees.
The assessor wrote on an assessment "Toss of coin not to hit ground must catch then show team captains"
I looked through the LOTG and found nothing about it.
Is there a correct way or is there a choice whether to catch or let it fall to the ground.
Craig White - Port Macquarie, NSW

The Referee Store
There is nothing in the LOTG that stipulates.

This is more a coaching point, I suspect the meaning behind it is to avoid the referee having to bend down and pick it up off the floor.

I actually let it hit the ground on purpose, that way, I have no influence on its landing at all, my only role is to spin it up into the air
Nobody can say I know which way it falling, or that i caught it a certain way, nothing
On the 1/100 occasions it does land in mud side on, we simply do it again.

it also takes away any embarrassment when I go to catch coin and miss :(

Any assessor concerned about a coin toss has a lot in life to worry about..........

Last edited:
I'm on the assessor's side here. I wouldn't mark down a referee for it, but add it as a 'consider doing this' comment.

Never understood the idea of letting it hit the ground so the ref doesn't influence the result - has anybody, anywhere, every heard of an accusation of that? Both teams get a different advantage.

When I started refereeing, we were taught to be very conscious of body language, with the ideas of not bending over in front of players if you could help it. Bending over to pick something up at the player's feet is a bit.....submissive.