A&H

Regaining Control

cZulu

Level 7 Referee
It seems a question that is never asked, and I know its to be avoided in the first place, but what do other refs do in an attempt to regain control of a match once its lost?

Specific scenario: I give a penalty decision in the first 10 mins - thinking back I now admit it was a poor decision and I knew this within 5 seconds of giving it but I had to hold up my confidence to the players. Cue every decision I make receiving dissent in one form or another and my capability being called into question regularly by the players too. I obviously use warnings and YCs as appropriate but this appears to fan the flames. I can also imagine its equally easy to avoid making decisions, or letting things go in this scenario, but again would make things worse too.

I am a junior referee and I'm going to make the odd mistake. I am still not feeling great following this game yesterday; its easier said than done to review, learn and move on to next week - especially when this team is on my roster next Sunday too!

Thanks for your help.

The Referee Store
Well Could you have recinded the pk? Of course that in itself can have control implications, but, we do all strive to make the correct call.

Controlling a game is like being a conductor controlling the orchestra. You speed it up, you slow it down, you let it play along smoothly, you mix it up a bit
Or as another user typed during the week, its driving the new car....

if you feel the games getting away from you, kill it stone dead, until its back in your control. Free kick must be where the offence was, not three four yards away
Give the soft foul, the maybe foul
No moving restarts either.
Use positive language ' work with me guys"
Throw ins where ball went out, again, not six yards away
Say, please, tnanks
Make the most of stoppages, slow things down, ie at a sub or if the ball gets booted to Narnia, dont rush to get a replacement on