A&H

Question on GK Picking up the Ball

NOVARef

So a player plays a way too strong of a through ball to his teammate right down the middle. The GK runs up and scoops up the ball before the forward gets anywhere near him. The problem is that the GK had a brain freeze and was outside the box by 4 yards when he scooped it up. The ball definitely had enough on it that it could have been seen as a shot but I know it wasn't. Is that just a DFK? I'm a new referee and trying to understand when a GK should and shouldn't get a card. Thanks. PS just gave a DFK and no one complained but I wonder.

The Referee Store
It's a DFK unless you deem the GK handball offence to be stopping a promising attack (SPA, yellow card) or denying an obvious goal-scoring opportunity (DOGSO, red card).

You mention the forward was nowhere near him, in which case a DFK will suffice.

Yes, that's exactly what I wonder. The "pass" definitely had enough to go into the goal, so is that a goal scoring opportunity?

Without the handball offence, would it have almost certainly resulted in a goal? (No matter what the GK could have done) If yes, it's probably DOGSO.

Within this, you need to consider what would have happened without the offence:
Could the GK have caught up to the ball?
Would it have hit them anyway?
Was it actually on target?

You have picked up on one of the intricacies (some may say anomalies) of the laws of the game.

In theory when considering DOGSO, you don't just take the foul/offence out of the picture to think what would have happened. You take the offending player out of the picture. You don't think about what else he could have done if he didn't commit the offence.

So in your case you take the goalkeeper out of the picture and if you are almost certain it would have been a goal, then its a DOGSO.