RefSix

Question from manager

sh2002

New Member
#1
Manager came up to me yesterday asking whether his keeper can put his foot on the ball , flick it up , head it and then catch it . I replied with no and when he asked why I blabbered abit since I wasn’t sure how to explain the rule on this . Just wondering what you would’ve said
Cheers
 

RobOda

RefChat Addict
#2
"It would count as a trick to avoid the backpass rule and I'd have to caution him for unsporting behaviour."

(I'm assuming this is what he's getting at, since he can do the flick/header showboating if the opposition have sent the ball to him...)
 

one

RefChat Addict
#3
If the keeper does this I wouldn't count it as a trick for circumventing the law. It's just a breach of of the clause.
The keeper is not allowed to touch the ball with his hands after it has been kicked to him by a team mate. Controlling it with his foot first doesn't negate the requirement for not touching it with his hand.

Edit: so if he doesn't flick it up, controls it with his foot, runs it to to the corner of the PA and then bends down and picks it up. No trick but still a breach of the law.
 
Last edited:

GraemeS

RefChat Addict
#4
Yeah, my action depends on the context here. If it's come to him from an opponent then he can do whatever he wants before catching/picking it up. If it's come to him from a teammate, then juggling doesn't negate the "passback", so IFK. And if I think he's doing it to try and get round that law, rather than because he's an idiot who's showboating, then it comes with a yellow card as well - that's just something you have to judge in the moment.
 

bester

RefChat Addict
#6
 uses a deliberate trick to pass the ball (including from a free kick) to the goalkeeper with the head, chest, knee etc. to circumvent the Law, whether or not the goalkeeper touches the ball with the hands
 
Likes: JH
#8
 uses a deliberate trick to pass the ball (including from a free kick) to the goalkeeper with the head, chest, knee etc. to circumvent the Law, whether or not the goalkeeper touches the ball with the hands
Which highlights that the GK cannot be penalised for a deliberate trick, only a player, no?

How can this be a YC for the GK?
 
#9
This thread has some bizarre responses....

The correct answer is - the flick up and head to himself are simply irrelevant.

If he received it direct from a teammate's kick to him or TI, he can't handle the ball.

If from an opponent or uncontrolled by a teammate, he can. What he does with the ball between first receiving it and handling it is completely irrelevant. It's no different to running around with the ball at his feet for 20 seconds before picking it up.

Easy IDFK and card if you like!
For what? turning up?
QUOTE="bester, post: 144238, member: 985"] uses a deliberate trick to pass the ball (including from a free kick) to the goalkeeper with the head, chest, knee etc. to circumvent the Law, whether or not the goalkeeper touches the ball with the hands[/QUOTE]
You too, what are you coming up with here????

Yeah, my action depends on the context here. If it's come to him from an opponent then he can do whatever he wants before catching/picking it up. If it's come to him from a teammate, then juggling doesn't negate the "passback", so IFK. And if I think he's doing it to try and get round that law, rather than because he's an idiot who's showboating, then it comes with a yellow card as well - that's just something you have to judge in the moment.
You're mostly on the money, but it can't be circumventing the law - when the law actually clearly covers this one. If he tries to get around the law but manages to break the law anyway by virtue of not understanding it, then why would that need to be a card?

The reason the 'circumventing the law' is a card is because, without stopping play to issue the card, there's actually no IFK. He's gotten around the law.

In this case, he hasn't. No justification for a card for 'attempted circumvention' - especially when an IFK is actually a pretty big response already.
 
Top