A&H

Pop quiz....

Padfoot

The Persecuted One
You are a promotion seeking candidate....you are being observed....2nd half of game and it's substitution time...

Do you:
a) conduct the procedure by moving to meet the player at the halfway line, check their equipment etc

Or

b) stay where you are, give them a thumbs up and do nothing more than wait for the players to sort themselves out?

The Referee Store
the first two parts of the scinario, and the beginning of the third part, are superfluous to the situation.

so what you are asking is ".....it's substitution time" t which there is only one anwer;

B (runs an hides)

On the assumption it's a L7, I wonder how much instruction he's been given on what is expected of referees at grassroots level?

Obviously when watching PL football, the referee would have a 4th assistant to do any and all checking, so that's not a good example. And as a newly qualified referee, I knew what was expected of the players - but I was never taught what my role was to be in that. It wasn't until an early assessment where it was mentioned that I was expected to "monitor" the substitutions in any way, and another assessment or two after that until I realised what that actually meant.

Also, on the assumption I've checked all player's equipment at the start of the match, are we then expected to check again when the subs come on?

Last edited:
Never assume anything.
OK. *I* check all players equipment at the start of the match, because....I just do. Am I expected to check again when they come on as a sub? And if so, what specifically am I looking for that I wouldn't catch at the start?

OK. *I* check all players equipment at the start of the match, because....I just do. Am I expected to check again when they come on as a sub? And if so, what specifically am I looking for that I wouldn't catch at the start?