A&H

player refusing to give hes name

Anthony Green

Level 7 Referee
hello guys

these situation has come across me a few times in my refereeing career i have been a level 7 referee for 7 years now

I always wondered how i could handle the situation were a player refuses to give me hes name.what i do is warn him saying if you dont give me your name your get sent of but what is the correct procedure. is it classed as 2 yellows for refusing to give hes name or a straight red and how you report it .

Thanks

The Referee Store
hello guys

these situation has come across me a few times in my refereeing career i have been a level 7 referee for 7 years now

I always wondered how i could handle the situation were a player refuses to give me hes name.what i do is warn him saying if you dont give me your name your get sent of but what is the correct procedure. is it classed as 2 yellows for refusing to give hes name or a straight red and how you report it .

Thanks

Something similar has happened to me only once in 3 years.
Player told me his name was Arnold Schwarzenegger!! :rolleyes: He even kept a straight face as he said it!! :hmmm:

My response (rightly or wrongly) was:
"Okay Mr Schwarzenegger, I'm cautioning you for a bordering-on-reckless challenge. Bearing in mind that I've seen the team sheet and your number, I'm going to ask you one more time to give me your proper name. If you don't, I'll issue you a second caution for dissent followed by a red card".
His team captain had by now jogged over and heard the exchange. ""Wilky, don't be a ****", he said. "Ref, his name is ......... (data protection etc.).
"I need to hear that from you fella" I replied.
"Wilky" then decided to grow up a bit, apologised and gave me his name. Had he not, I'd have sent him from the field as promised.

I've no time for petulant young men who show no respect for the game. :cool: