A&H

Howdy from the US

biffnix

Joe Griego
Level 7 Referee
Just thought I'd do a quick intro. I found this forum while googling for whistles and watches, and thought I'd register and hear how refereeing across the pond compares...

I'm currently an AYSO National referee, USSF grade 7, and NFHS high school. Been doing it for about nine years now. I played soccer myself back in high school (early 80's), but it was more of a novelty game here in the US back then. Now that my son is in high school, I do a lot more U19 and NFHS (Nat'l Federation of High School Sports) matches. NFHS has its own set of rules apart from FIFA law, so that's a little weird, but it's *mostly* the same.

Fun to read the stories and see the issues are more or less the same everywhere. Coaches who are too loud, parents who have never heard of the laws of the game, etc. Thanks for the forum, everyone.

Joe G.
Bishop, CA

The Referee Store
Hi Joe! I'm from Canada so not quite across the pond. I've always been fascinated with the NFHS -- how do they get away with changing the LOTG and are they associated with the USSF? Also, what is the AYSO?

Hi Joe

Welcome to the site, always nice having members from other parts of the world.

Thought we all sang from the same hymn sheet when it came to the lotg. Obviously not :)

Hi Joe! I'm from Canada so not quite across the pond. I've always been fascinated with the NFHS -- how do they get away with changing the LOTG and are they associated with the USSF? Also, what is the AYSO?

Yes, NFHS is an oddity. There are only two FIFA-approved training authorities for soccer referees in the US. Those are USSF (the US Soccer Federation - our national FIFA affiliated authority), and AYSO (American Youth Soccer Organization). AYSO began back in the early 1960's to promote the game in the US, and received FIFA approval to train and certify referees. Ken Aston was a huge supporter, and even defied FIFA early on to train referees here in the US!