A&H

Handball in PBox, ball already crossed line.

mrdavid87

Hello.

This is my first post asking a question about my 5th game for U13s.

The match was 1-1 at the time, and the defender handled the ball into their own net. By the time I noticed and blew, the ball had entered the net with no intervention from any other player. I awarded the goal, should it have been a penalty kick?

I'm relatively new to being an official and this is a grey area for me.

Thank you.

David

The Referee Store
This is the extreme example of applying advantage--which is better for the attacking team: a PK or a goal? A goal, of course!

As long as you had not yet blown whistle, you were 100% correct to give the goal.

This is the extreme example of applying advantage--which is better for the attacking team: a PK or a goal? A goal, of course!

As long as you had not yet blown whistle, you were 100% correct to give the goal.
Thank you. I ask as the defending teams coach was adamant a goal shouldn't have been allowed and that a penalty, reluctantly, is awarded. The match finished 5-1 to the attacking team so its irrelevant really but its been bugging me as I couldnt find a direct answer.

Unfortunately coaches and managers rarely have a complete and up to date knowledge of the LOTG and will almost always seek to exert some pressure on you to make a decision that favours their team. This pressure may not stem from a bad intent but is almost always partial to their interests. Well done for making the correct decision and for maintaining it in the face of questioning. As Russell says the only addition would have been a caution for the defender involved noting that it would have been a penalty and most probably a red card if the handling had been successful in preventing the goal from being scored.

Last edited:
We