A&H

Dropped ball

Xavier

I was refereeing a u11 Boys match. A player from team a Has the ball he kicks it up the Field of Play with power. When the ball is kicked it hits a player from team b in the head. I was worried so stopped the game. Is a dropped ball to team a a correct restart?

The Referee Store
I was refereeing a u11 Boys match. A player from team a Has the ball he kicks it up the Field of Play with power. When the ball is kicked it hits a player from team b in the head. I was worried so stopped the game. Is a dropped ball to team a a correct restart?

Law 8 is your friend.....

Im actually a 14 year old referee it was my first game and was wondering if i did this correctly. I read through law 8.2 and think i did this correctly. Thanks

Its actually an interesting one as most folk would give it to A
subject to the ball not having been in the pk area
The book however, says, " for one player of the team who last touched the ball"

which makes it, team B

So the laws say the dropped ball should be to team b. But i reckon becoase it was an accident i have it back to team a as it would be unfair for them to loose the ball.

So the laws say the dropped ball should be to team b. But i reckon becoase it was an accident i have it back to team a as it would be unfair for them to loose the ball.

I would run with the laws.

Esp when they are clear.

First--good recognition in stopping play on a possible head injury.

Second, whether we like the new DB standards or not, the Law is very clear that it goes to the team whose player last touched the ball when play was stopped. In this case, that is the "victim" who got hit in the head. The DB goes to his team. (Of course, unless he got hit in the PA or the ball was in the PA when you stopped play, in which case it would be a DB to the keeper, but I think you knew that.)

First--good recognition in stopping play on a possible head injury.