A&H

CSA Essay Contest

Ryan Owens

Token Colonial
Level 3 Referee
So the CSA is holding an essay competition in order to celebrate national officials day here in Canada. I can win a $400 Umbro prize pack if I win so I'm keen on this one. The topic is 'What Motivates You to Officiate'. Please have a read through my first draft and let me know what you think.

For as long as I remember, I have been a referee. When my friends were having a kick about in the backyard or the neighborhood pitch, I would bring along my whistle and content myself with being in the middle. Since the beginning of my life in this beautiful game, I have relished the opportunity to make those big decisions, to be counted on by 22 players to make the right decision, to be fair, and to be effective.

Refereeing, unlike anything I have ever experienced, offers me a new challenge every few minutes and promises to never quit. It offers the opportunity to exercise all aspects of my personality: my physical strength, my mental fitness, and my interpersonal skills. Refereeing makes me a better person, and being a better person makes me a better referee: it is a closed loop of self-improvement that spills over into other aspects of my life. Finally, refereeing has given me the opportunity to meet countless different people from countless different walks of life, all of whom have one thing in common: an undying, burning passion for the beautiful game.