A&H

Ball hitting tree overhanging pitch

Status
Not open for further replies.

NorthLondonRef

Hi all,

I've remembered a local youth Sunday league game I did when I was a young referee and first starting out. The following incident happened. I'd be keen to hear your thoughts on what you would have done and what decision you would have given and why. Thanks.

- Local typical park pitch
- One goal is just in front of the edge of the playing fields so there is a bush separating the playing fields and a farm. On the edge of the boundary there is a large tree, probably around 40 ft tall, but a large branch is overhanging onto the playing fields. This branch/branches are pretty high up probably around 10 feet or so above the crossbar and overhanging and encroaching onto the field of play in the middle of the goal by about 6ft.

This is a rare occurrence but having played on that pitch as a youngster for years, I can't remember an incident ever involving "the tree". It was so high up I don't think anyone even paid it any attention but......

Corner sent in. Of course, corner was overhit and ridiculously high (but irrelevant), ball hits leaves/branch, drops directly down and an attacker heads the ball into the goal. What would you give in that situation?

The Referee Store
There are many examples of 'permanent' stuff overhanging a pitch. Either trees as in the example above or wires on many 3G pitches. Critical for the referee, in advance of the game starting, to decide what his course of action will be if the ball hits this stuff .... and then communicate this clearly to club officials and teams (or captains at least). Whilst people might still moan at you during the game for playing on or for giving a drop ball, as long as you've made clear your choice in advance then you're covered.

If you neglect to do this, then my advice would be to give a drop ball as a) this is correct in law and b) it's more in the 'spirit of the game'