A&H

Assistant abused

what about if a player turns to you and very calmly says "ref, he's cheating"
would you dignify that with a response or is that a send off ?

Not sure what my response would be other than a verbal "keep your opinion to yourself matey". Because he's said it only to me and it's about somebody else, I can't see how it falls within the remit of "OFFINABUS" and therefore a red card. :)

Because isn't calling somebody a cheat - insulting?:confused:

The Referee Store

Not to me.
Probably is to the person he's calling a cheat. But not if he can't hear it.
I'm certainly not going to brandish a red card at someone based on a "what if" notion.
I'm a football referee - not a member of the "thought police". ;)

I was doing the lines, I gave a clear offside and the player shouted for me to "f*** off".

The ref didnt do anything, and I was wondering if that was a clear red or what?
For me that's obvious dissent and a clear yellow at least. Anything further would depend on the volume and aggression with which it was said.

You shouldn't let dissent go unnoticed, but it's the referee's call as to what sanction he imposes. Whether the assistant feels insulted is, unfortunately, irrelevant.

A direct F-off to me is always at least a caution, so a direct F-off to my assistant would be exactly the same. In many games it would be a send off, but (dare I say it) I can be a bit "creative". :eek:

Not to me.
Probably is to the person he's calling a cheat. But not if he can't hear it.
I'm certainly not going to brandish a red card at someone based on a "what if" notion.
I'm a football referee - not a member of the "thought police". ;)

@Kes - most people on this forum would be dismissing if a player called them a C*** (cannot use the C word). So you feel that if they call somebody else a cheat, it is not insulting.

The laws of the game don't specify who words are aimed at has to be offended, insulted or abused; just the words used are
Offensive, Insulting or Abusive.