A&H

Advice for a new referee

Jay99

I've just qualified to become a referee and I'm about to referee my first game in a few weeks. But I'm so nervous and unsure about so many things. Mainly pre match routine and just general things I should say to players to make myself come across as confident. Literally any help would be much appreciated.

The Referee Store
I've just qualified to become a referee and I'm about to referee my first game in a few weeks. But I'm so nervous and unsure about so many things. Mainly pre match routine and just general things I should say to players to make myself come across as confident. Literally any help would be much appreciated.
Advice to a complete beginner would be very basic
1) Make a checklist of things you need to do before KO; pitch check (FOP, nets & corner flags etc), equipment checks, instructions for Club Assistants etc.
Otherwise the game will KO and you'll feel nervous that you've forgotten something
2) Turn up ~ 45 mins before KO. Look like a referee... presentable kit and clean black boots
3) Introduce yourself to both teams. Learn the names of the Team Officials (note them down). Exchange pleasantries about how their season is going etc.
4) During the game, don't hesitate to act on verbals. Publicly inform the captains of players who are pushing their luck with low level dissent. Caution immediately for any clear act of dissent (sin bin). Be expectant of inevitable mistakes; that way you won't be surprised or panicked when they happen

Welcome to the dark side.

Your whistling is a sign of how confident you are. A feeble whistle is a sign of a week referee. Your first chance is at kick off. Blow it hard and with confidence. Back yourself on every decision without showing arrogance. You will make mistakes. Don't dwell on them. Enjoy and let us know how you go.