RefSix

A whole new GLT experience 🤔

Are you reffing today?

  • Yes, Game on

    Votes: 12 75.0%
  • No, Going home

    Votes: 4 25.0%

  • Total voters
    16

GraemeS

RefChat Addict
#61
I have a local pitch with the classic half-way line wire. My usual statement to the captains is that if it hit the wire direct from a GK or FK, we retake the set piece, if it maybe hits the wire or doesn't make much difference, we play on and if it clearly hits the wire from open play, it's a drop ball.

Despite assuming it happened all the time when I first turned up, I'd be surprised if it happens more than once a match on average, and as long as I've remembered to set out the rules beforehand, it's never caused me any trouble.
 

socal lurker

Well-Known Member
#66
I know it's beside the point but this is not NOT in accordance with the law:
In what way? All this says is that if the ball leaves the field after touching a predicting condition that is deemed a part of the field, the restart (TI, CK, GK) is determined by which player last touched the bal—same as if it hit a bump in the grass or the referee.
 

RustyRef

Administrator
Staff member
#67
You do have to be careful, lots of games at grass roots level have been replayed because the pitch didn't comply with the requirements of law. If you are going to play it make sure you point out the problem to both teams and get them to say, ideally with witnesses, that they are willing to play. It isn't uncommon for one team to say they are OK only to then lodge a protest after they lost.

I had it in a supply league game years ago when I noticed that one touchline and the half way line were wavy, couldn't really believe my eyes. I got the home secretary out, who I have known for years, and asked him if the groundsman had taken in a few sherberts before marking the line. He replied no, but the thread on the line marking machine wheel broke half way through and it went wobbly.

Then with both assistants present I got managers and secretaries out from both teams, showed them the problem and got them to confirm that they were happy to play, which they all were. I also pointed out the potential problems, primarily with offside (in home half or not nigh on impossible to tell) but also a ball played down the touchline could go in and out of play three or four times. Finally I phoned the RefsSec to explain the problem and that both clubs had agreed to play regardless.

Cover yourself, and if you are on your own and don't have neutral witnesses make officials from both teams send you an email to say they are happy to play.
 

one

RefChat Addict
#68
In what way? All this says is that if the ball leaves the field after touching a predicting condition that is deemed a part of the field, the restart (TI, CK, GK) is determined by which player last touched the bal—same as if it hit a bump in the grass or the referee.
That is not what is says. I have highlighted it.
1.6 Pre-Existing Conditions
... the restart is in accordance with the Law, based on which team last played the ball.
'Played' and 'touched' (the correct word to use) have different meanings. While 'played' is true most of the time, it excludes a deflection. Its important to get the wording right, especially in a 'directive' document.
 

socal lurker

Well-Known Member
#69
:rolleyes: The overall writing in the ATR, while far from perfect, was at least as precise as the writing in the LOTG . . . anyone who did not understand that, in context, by "played" they meant "touched" is either incredible oblivious to the game or being deliberately obtuse.
 

one

RefChat Addict
#70
The laws use 'touch'. You used 'touch', the directive used 'played'

And anyone who doesn't understand the importance of getting wording right in a nation wide directive and being dismissive of it is...

Really not trying to turn this into an argument but the laws change with minor clarification every year for obvious things. I guess there are people out there who are "incredible oblivious to the game or being deliberately obtuse".
 
Top