A&H

Am I wrong in what I did

• Yes

Votes: 13 76.5%
  • No

Votes: 4 23.5%

• Total voters
The Referee Store
Am I wrong? I refereed a U11 match last night. At half time reds were winning 6-0. All that can be heard on the ground is greens manager screaming at his players and singling out individuals. I walked over and asked him if he felt that maybe positively motivating his young players might make them preform better and help them enjoy the match more. He started shouting at me asking of I was a referee or a coach. Then told me to go away and mind my own business.

The next part I know is wrong of me, but I went over to the parents of greens and asked of they liked their children being shouted at but most of them just said that's just X that's the way he is and of my son don't start playing better I will shout at him when he gets home.

Wondering on your thoughts and what you would've done in this situation.

No, no, no and no again. You are the referee, not their parent. If parents are happy to see their children treated like that then that is for them. Do your job and don't go looking for trouble.

This in my view, would come under the training we receive on the safeguarding course. I would be contacting the safeguarding officer for the league and explain what you saw as it could be seen as abuse. I wouldn't of gone over and got involved, unless there was grounds for OFFINABUS or similar reason to remove him from the area of the field of play. I definitely wouldn't of gone and asked the parents, that's not what your there for as a referee in my view. If you as a person felt it was wrong, go down the safeguarding route and report it to the relative person after the game.

I'd have asked the coach for a quiet word, away from his players and others present. I'd have told him that his behaviour was unacceptable, that i would be reporting him for misconduct and that if i heard another negative peep out of him i'd be abandoning the match.