A&H

ItsTom

Dear all,

I am a year 12 student. Currently, I'm in the writing phase for my extended project qualification (EPQ) in which I aim to explore the use of Television Match Officials (TMOs) in rugby, evaluate whether it has proved successful and whether there is a need for technological assistance in football in the form of Video Assistant Referees (VARs). It is my intention to gain a deeper knowledge of the technology in question (pros and cons) and, hopefully, receive a wide array of contrasting opinions which I can then reference in my project.

With this in mind, I would be very appreciative if you could provide me with any information regarding the history of VARs in football, but also it would be great if you could potentially complete the following survey which will go along way in aiding my research: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/TNDXC5K (should only take a couple of minutes to complete, although I appreciate referees have extremely busy schedules!)

Thanks for taking the time to read this email, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
The Referee Store
I did your questionnaire Tom, and wish you the best of luck with your EPQ.

Just a note though, you are highly unlikely to find referees who have used VARs - it is only just being ruled out, and this is on the international stage. Thus, the very limited number of referees who have used it would be spread across the world, and would be difficult to contact (indeed, none are part of this forum)

Just a note though, you are highly unlikely to find referees who have used VARs - it is only just being rolled* out, and this is on the international stage. Thus, the very limited number of referees who have used it would be spread across the world, and would be difficult to contact (indeed, none are part of this forum)

*my correction