A&H

Recording game for the ahem... older ref

marshr02

Hello everyone, newbie here.

Just completed ref training and trying to get ready for first proper ref game. Whilst most bits of my body are in very good condition I need reading glasses for close work... The referee record sheets that I see look ridiculously small fonts..... so I'm sitting here trying to work out a simpler method to keep on top of booking etc. Perhaps the issue of refs that need reading glasses have been addressed before?? Does anyone have a simpler method of recording the bare essentials during play....

The Referee Store
Hello everyone, newbie here.

Just completed ref training and trying to get ready for first proper ref game. Whilst most bits of my body are in very good condition I need reading glasses for close work... The referee record sheets that I see look ridiculously small fonts..... so I'm sitting here trying to work out a simpler method to keep on top of booking etc. Perhaps the issue of refs that need reading glasses have been addressed before?? Does anyone have a simpler method of recording the bare essentials during play....
Free Hand?

Yes I thought that. The only issue being trying to organise it so I can spot a second yellow offence..... maybe I'm over thinking that, and it will be obvious...

Yes I thought that. The only issue being trying to organise it so I can spot a second yellow offence..... maybe I'm over thinking that, and it will be obvious...
Lots of people free hand, you take name, number so one of those will jog your memory and you tend to find you recognise players you've booked anyway. (just don't let that carry over games like I did once 🤭)

Go for the old fashioned basic notebook if you like. I know an older chap who has one in each pocket. One for away team cards/goals and one for home team. No right way, just whatever works for you especially at lower levels