A&H

No ref day

Ben448844

RefChat Addict
Some of you may have seen on Twitter that a junior league in Liverpool is proposing a no ref weekend, due to a number of senior and new referees who have resigned this season due to abuse from parents and managers.

Thoughts?

The Referee Store
Imagine if we all resigned from abuse, there'd be none of us left.

my thoughts are...when you sign up as a referee then enlist in leagues etc, then, you are making yourself avail as a servant to the game.
My thoughts are then, the league have a duty to protect, punish etc....if they are not doing so, then the problem is with the league(s)
my thoughts are, as a referee, I am not going to deny the well behaved players who wait all week for their game, train hard, eat the right thing, listen to their good coaches and wear their xmas pressie boots etc, what maybe their one moment of fun all week, because of the actions of those who cannot behave. To do so is to admit defeat and conceed that the bullies (cos after all thats what they are) have won.
You stand up to a bully, not run away

As this seems to be because of abuse by parents and/or managers then I'm inclined to agree with @Ciley Myrus. The fact that the problem is so bad that a number of referees have resigned from the league because of this says to me that, providing the problems are being reported, the league and CFA (as it is they who will deal with any managers etc that are submitted as misconduct reports) aren't doing enough to tackle the issue.

Why bother? Having a "no ref day" is simply something that clubs would have to allow for in their season (one match!!) and little else. It isn't going to change the behaviour of club managers/parents etc.