A&H

New ref looking for tips

Dave Mac

Hi guys,

Finished my course on Sunday and now looking to get my 6 games under my belt. Got my first sorted for this Friday and getting a bit nervous. Does anyone have and hints or tips I should take into my first game. I'm worried I'll go to jelly and be giving fouls when I shouldnt and pulling out cards left right and center!

The Referee Store
You should have the laws of the game fresh in your mind. Common sense will tell you when to issue a card. Just because a player shouts out "fu3k it " because hes missed a penalty I wouldnt take action . If they swear at you clamp right down. You give fouls when you have to and belive you should have to

Just bear in mind that YOU are in charge. Don't let anybody else referee the match for you, thats when things get messy.

On a recent new ref course I got asked this. My tip relax.

I've been a referee for a good while. I am still yet to find a goal keeper but a ball on his own net at a goal kick. Still yet to have a goalkeeper add markings on a pitch or any of the odd things in law.

Relax and if anything random does happen you will find you will know how to handle it

Oh and enjoy it

Ill echo the above. Just relax and all will be fine.

Just apply the laws of the game and maintain personality. Remember, it is about the sport, not either the referee or the players but the sport. Do what you can to keep the sport in good repute.

Just relax, apply the laws as you have learned them and most of all enjoy it.

One thing I would say is that communication is vital. Talk to the players, let them know you are approachable but also be firm when necessary so they know not to even think about trying to take advantage of you.