A&H

Moving from Australia to U.K (2 years)

Hornsea Ref

Level 4 Referee
Hey guys,

In two years, I will be moving back to the East Riding of Yorkshire but I was wondering if there was the possibility of starting at a higher level rather then Level 10. I have been refereeing for 6 months so far, but, because of my performances, I am currently assistant refereeing at the National Premier League (2nd Division) and the WA State Leagues, (3rd and 4th division). In two years, I will be most likely refereeing at these levels so, obviously, a drop to local games will be a significant plummet for me,

Can anyone shed some light on transferring to the English League System,

Thanks very much,

Aaron

Last edited:
The Referee Store
Yeah speak to steve lazenby, he will be the best guy to help you. His email address is on the link above, also if you phone the office he is normally there to talk and will help work something out.

This is no disrespect to you but I imagine that the Australian divisions of football are of a lower standard than the English ones. I understand that you may be the best referee in Australia but to become a division 2 assistant within 6 months of starting it would be a massive and unheard of jump in the UK. I know refereeing at grassroots level would be a shock and a disapointment to you but that might be what you have to do. On the other hand they might do an equivalent transfer to say level 6 or 5, if not you would be entering the system as a new ref at level 7 not level 10. If you do have to drop to a level 7 you can get an advanced promotion to level 5 if you wish, in 1 season, providing that you meet the criteria.

I hope these comments aren't taken the wrong way but there is no other way for me to phrase them.

Good luck, I hope it all works out :)

Didn't realise there were any other referees from WA on here :p I believe I'm yet to work with you :p