A&H

How to communicate with players

Xavier

Hi i'm a new referee and one thing i have a problem with during the game is explaining my decision. I often dont know how to explain why i made a call. Is this something that will come naturally or do i have to learn it.
Thanks

The Referee Store
Hi i'm a new referee and one thing i have a problem with during the game is explaining my decision. I often dont know how to explain why i made a call. Is this something that will come naturally or do i have to learn it.
Thanks

The short simple answer to this is, you dont. Your whistle and awarding of the fk is all thats needed. Explaining, in the whole, leads to arguement and debate, during which you simply wont win. If the guy you are penalising for a foul is convinced he aint fouled anyone, you are not goimg to chsnge his mind.
all leading up to you reaching in for a dissent card/sin bin if applies

that said, in the real world, of course we wish to communicate. Building a rapport does gain us some respect and enhance our match control.

foul/whistle, trip by red 5, thats you explained. Short, sharp, closed statement.

foul/whistle, I can see you got the ball but you went thro back of plsyer to get it

foul/whistle, push in the back,

offside blue 9.
"hows he offisde ref"
' i have given offside, lets get on with the game"

closed statements, words that a player cant naturally come bk to you on

like anything in refereeing, with experience you will find what works for you.

Think back to the laws - there are 7 DFK offences and most FK's can be briefly described by referring to one of those. You'll develop more detailed language in time, but to start with, stick to one/two word descriptions and a reference to who did it: "push by number 5", "trip by the winger".