A&H

Frustrating conversation

Steve Wiggins

Level 5 Referee
Last night went to watch a team in their final match of the Womens Northen Prem as I work with their manager and they needed to win to stay in that league, another teams secretary/manager who was not playing that night and also came down to watch was next to me.

He started ranting to a guy next to him about the standard of referees in this league, having refereed in this league I started to listen and see what he had to say and the guy next to him started looking at me and laughing, turns out he recognised me from refereeing a few games in this league and said to me what do you think?

I politely explained to this guy that I was a referee and rather than argue with him I just asked him what do you think we need to do to improve expecting a serious answer and he just starts ranting on about how we are all awful and I have to pay you £30-£50 for the privilege and 9/10 of you are all **** and don't know what you doing. I tried to have a serious conversation and keep it polite but in the end I turned round and said its people like you that persuade refs to give up and if you think we're **** do it yourself and walked off.

The Referee Store
People like that just get wrapped up in their own little world.

Consolation is that his failure to spot faults in his own team and take the easy option of blaming the officials for every match not won, is probably the reason he is coaching at that level and not higher.

This game is plagued by too many people who are way, way too stupid to realise that they're a much bigger part of the problem than those they're slandering.

I wonder what professional quality referees he is hoping to get for his money?

I wonder what professional quality referees he is hoping to get for his money?

I heard Howard Webb was on £30 a game including expenses at his peak.