A&H

Dissent by player / Referee

Markt

Level 5 Referee
My pet hate at the moment is players who show dissent by making comments along the lines of "I know you're wrong! I'm a Referee!" This will be a caution every time as far as I'm concerned, even if the player's other comments are not as bad as other ones I've let go with a reprimand. As far as I'm concerned this is a player stating that he knows the LOTG better than I do in order to undermine my authority.
The first time I had a player state this was at the end of a feisty game about 5 years ago. I sent three players off, including the home captain for a disgraceful challenge.
The home team like to "put one in" on players they challenge, and on this occasion the challenge came from just behind side-on with two straight legs. The right foot played the ball while the left foot took the ball of the opponent's ankle very slightly after. The home manager (who is an animal!) shouted "great tackle!" He then shouted "what! That's not a free kick!" which rapidly changed to "you can't send him off for that!"
I was 5 yards behind the player who dived in and I know the contact was intentional from the way he went into it. (Not that intent matters, but the fact that he obviously intended to hurt the opponent made the challenge worse)
At the end of the game the away goalkeeper came up, initially to shake my hand. However, he then told me he thought it was harsh sending the other team's captain off! since "He played the ball first!" When I told him that didn't matter he then told me that he's a Referee and he knows I'm wrong. He then carried on, before I eventually told him to go away and check, but that the decision was right.