A&H

Be prepared

I'm a qualified referee with ~5 years experience. I have no idea how to operate one of the digital boards, I've not used a comms kit and I have no real idea of what a 4th official actually does to be honest! I was also under the impression that all referees at that level are observed on every game - couldn't the observer come down and fill that role?

Sorry, observers are specifically barred from officiating. If he had come down the whole of their observation would have been voided!

And before any of the L4's I know say it - "when has an observer done anything useful at a football match!!!!!" ;)

The Referee Store
I’m as baffled as @Ciley Myrus. Sky was reporting live that the “match was close to being abandoned” eh?!! Because there isn’t a digital board to show injury time and sub numbers...come on. Play on, rough it for 10 mins.

And like @GraemeS i haven’t a scooby what to do as a 4th at that level. I’d be telling the ref to take the board and I’ll do the middle for the final 10. ;)

Observer few year back went on line at a senior game here, ref was stuck in a traffic tailback, but when the referee turned up, 25 mins in, he took over as ref and put the current ref back to AR1 and the observer back to the stand !
Totally incorrect procedure, the AR should have continued as referee, with original referee taking over from observer on the line

I also once only got to a game with 10 mins to spare due to a traffic accident (all parties were kept informed very step of way) and the observer was primed to be me. Which was fine as he was just off the senior list himself and ten times the assistant I would ever be !

I guess you go with whats right at the time. But in the OP example, I would like to think you would see out the last ten mins with the 3 officials.