A&H

Basic Steps to cautioning a player??

Richard Novell

Level 7 Referee
Basically I'm a new referee and am starting this season fresh as I done a few games last season towards the end of the season (passed my course earlier this year etc.)

I have never booked a player and would like to get advice on the tips on how you would i.e like if its dissent how many warnings do you give before you hand out a card or if its a foul how many chances do you give them etc. (if this makes sense) ???

I know what to say when you do caution a player its just the build up like the warnings you give them etc.?

The Referee Store
Hi,

Some fouls are a straight YC. I'm sure you have seen the pros on TV so you should have an idea of what is a YC and what is a good bollocking.

I like to give the players 2 chances. Depending on the foul the 1st one may go without a word 2nd one final warning one more and there in the book. Then if they do it a 3rd time they can't argue.

In relation to decent. If they are in your face arguing. Easy YC. If they are shouting it from 30-40yrds away easy YC. You will get your own tollerence level. When they go past that put them in the book. Work with the captains and tell them to get the player the calm down or he will be booked.

Have fun

It's really hard with kids as the managers seem to ave more of an influence over the kids behaviour than there mates do - well sometimes.

You must rem that if its a YC you have to give it and not let a sub take take for that player to come off as you are then letting him get away with it. If that makes sense.

In open age i found Cautions should be for any dissent (kicking ball away, serious back chat so they make you look small) In play if you go "ouch" as a tackle goes in, that's your subconscious telling you, you need a caution or possibly even a red card!
I found due to playing i tend to be lenient towards tackling and that sort of lead to an incident on sunday, kind of my fault for being so lenient :(