A&H

What do you write?

OldNavyRef

Level 5 Referee
So I have one of those leather pouches that you keep your cards in (everyone I have keeps breaking).

I fold an A4 sheet of paper and put it in the middle of the pouch.

I write on the paper home and their colour and away and their colour, then draw a line down the middle.

I write 'K' during the coin flip on the side of who takes first kick off. I also write 'G' on the side, when a team scores (I tried tallies but if it is raining or I have rubbish writing it gets confusing). So if the score is three one it will look like : GGG | G.

On the yellow/red card, in pencil. I write number, name, and reason, usually with a tiny description. '9 - Joe bloggs - c1(AA) threatened to kick'

I'll also at top of each side of the card put either home or away.

This is all self taught and probably really clunky/crap.

What do others do? What are good habits I should start implementing now. As I don't really see the point of recording what minute everything happened, but should I make a habit of this.

Thanks.

The Referee Store
I love these threads!

I also stopped doing tallies for the same reason. I go for the masking tape on the cover and write down the actual number, so mine would look like this...

1 2 3 || 1

I've yet to get confused and think I've ended up with a 12-12 thriller!

At half time I do a horizontal line to separate the two halves.

I do record the minute for sanctions as WGS likes them on chrono order so it helps with that. I use write on cards for this.

In the inside of my book I have a sheet of waterproof paper for the worst weather alternative and a failsafe. I have a match card in there too, but not using them much at present.

In other little tricks, I tend to write the captains names on my wrist with my sharpie.

Last edited:
Something I do at half time, which is probably weird, i’d make a quick note on my wrist or Home/Away and Number for being close to a C3 Persistent Caution.

EG: H6 C3