A&H

Warm up/ Muscle recovery

Fidz

Level 7 Referee
Good morning,

I’ve recently retaken the initials referees training course and made a return to officiating after a 10 year break.

On Sunday, I had my first game back. The match itself went well but I could feel my legs start to seize up after half term. By the full time whistle, my legs were becoming increasingly sore.

Once I got home, I really struggled to move and walking up the stairs was incredibly painful. I’ve had to take a couple of days off work as I’m still struggling.

I’m following the standard advice of elevation and adding ice/ freeze spray to the affected areas.

Stupidly, I didn’t warm up. I’d like to ask colleagues what kind of warm ups/ stretches they complete before matches and whether there is anything else I can do to aid my recovery.

I’ve got another match this Sunday which I’m looking forward to but I don’t want to overdo it.

Thank you for your advice.

The Referee Store
I'm no sports scientist, but if that's the first physical exercise you've done for a while then you'll probably find that it'll ease by day 3/4 and if you do another game this weekend it'll be easier!

Good morning,

I’ve recently retaken the initials referees training course and made a return to officiating after a 10 year break.

On Sunday, I had my first game back. The match itself went well but I could feel my legs start to seize up after half term. By the full time whistle, my legs were becoming increasingly sore.

Once I got home, I really struggled to move and walking up the stairs was incredibly painful. I’ve had to take a couple of days off work as I’m still struggling.

I’m following the standard advice of elevation and adding ice/ freeze spray to the affected areas.

Stupidly, I didn’t warm up. I’d like to ask colleagues what kind of warm ups/ stretches they complete before matches and whether there is anything else I can do to aid my recovery.