A&H

Tips on controlling the game

refsteve98

I'm fairly new to refereeing; I have refereed 5 games now and I'm wondering if anybody has any tips or advice for keeping control of the game. I was the referee in an U10's game this morning and there were occasions where I felt that the players were making the decisions instead of me. How can I avoid that happening?

A&H International
Welcome to the site. The key thing in youth football is to make sure you're close to play and also be confident in every decision you give, simple things like nodding your head or making sure your arm is straight can make a huge difference!