A&H

I made a mistake by disallowing a penalty and I have reported my error to my County FA today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Graham B

Grassroots Referee
Hello Everyone,
I made a huge error today.
I made a mistake by disallowing a penalty and I have reoprted my error to my County FA today in my game report. The game was an U16 Div2.
Basically, I awarded a penalty, and after the kick the ball rebounded off the keeper straight to the kicker who kicked it in. I awarded incorrectly an indirect free kick to the defending team and the game played on. I kept control and had about 20 minutes of the second half to finish.

After the game, I reported my error in my County Fa report. I also emailed an apology to both coaches in recognition of my error and will wait to see what disciplinary action is taken against me. I am a new referee for this season, keen, and now beating myself up over this error as I am very disappointed in myself. The coach of the team denied the goal emailed me back and was very understanding and said 'its just a mistake, we are all human and to not worry about it', but I am, and feel terrible.
Here is the email I sent...
"
Hello,

I made a mistake today regarding the penalty and should have allowed the goal. For this error, I am extremely sorry. I am emailing you to let you know I recognise the mistake and I can assure it will not happen again. I will learn from this error.

I have reported.myself and my mistake to the County FA for whatever disaplinary action they see fit. I have copied them into this email too to show I have emailed you in recognition.

This is what I have sent in.
" I made a mistake. I disallowed a goal on a penalty kick taken by '* removed for protection' The kicker took the kick, it rebounded off the keeper and the same kicker scored. I incorrectly gave an indirect free kick to the defending team. I am unsure what sanction you should give me and I am very sorry for this mistake."