A&H

Help! First game with neutral ARs

The Gump

I've used the search function to try and find a thread on this without success, so apologies if there is a thread somewhere I couldn't find.

Been allocated at short notice by first County Cup Semi-Final tomorrow - as it's a SF there are neutral ARs and this will be my first time with neutral ARs! 😱

I'm a senior manager in my day job so confident communicating and leading a team, and I'm used to briefing CAR's and do allow them to do offsides and really try and use eye contact etc when I'm looking for guidance on throw-in direction etc. But having never done it before I'd really appreciate any advice tips about what to say/what not to say to the ARs pre-kick off, in match/communication tips and any other advice you think is relevant!

Thank you in advance!!!

PS As an aside, it's my first non-youth Semi-Final. High stakes obviously and everything that comes with it, but any specific tips on game management or - as I'm currently planning - just ref it like it's another game?

The Referee Store
Talk to them, check their experience level.
Don’t try to brief too many things.
My 1-2-3:

Ball in/out, goal/no goal - remember every shot might hit the bar and the line. Concentrate;)

Offside wait and see. If you don’t know who touched last, you flag. My job to wave you down. If I wave you down, it’s a good thing, we are communicating.

You can flag fouls but take your time. Look at me, am I already signaling yes/no, is there advantage.

…Overall take your time. Eye contact. Obvious tips (finger pointing and/or body movement, AR should tip by changing flag hand). Enjoy! Know each others’ names!!!

i would recommend how you want them to handle PKs. The Laws no longer mandate the signal the AR should give if GK off the line should be a retake. Decide if you want a full flag or a more subtle signal (if I have experienced ARs, I ask a full flag; I’m less confident, I ask for a more subtle signal, usually flag at waist)