A&H

Hello from the other side of the pond

Athar

Level 7 Referee
Hello to my referee friends in the UK!

I've played the game (dare I say "soccer"?) since I was about nine years old. I've been referee in the U.S. (on and off) since 1985. I currently officiate amateur adult, high school, and competitive youth (travel) matches in Virginia. I work in Washington and my day job is in government service (don't ask what it is, or else I'll have to electronically kill you... ;-)).

I enjoy being a referee, as long as my knees hold up. Referees are a great group of folks and the camaraderie is just great. So I thought I'd reach out and see what things we share in common.

Look forward to touching base every now and then, as well as hearing about your challenges, issues, concerns, etc.

Athar

The Referee Store
Thanks for the warm welcome, mates! Given the environment, I'll try to refrain from using the "s" word, but I do have a bad habit about that. Lest there be an confusion, even when I do say football, I'll be clear whether or not I'm talking about the NFL. ;)

Thanks, Jack. Ya know... it's kind of odd. I grew up as a Washington fan (please let's avoid the whole "Redskins" debate ;-) ) In recent years, except for the playoffs, I've actually become a significantly less avid NFL fan. At the same time, there are more avid followers here of EPL, La Liga, etc (and, of course, MLS -which has grown tremendously over the past two decades). Further, I don't think I found a more rabid (and well-informed) NFL fan than when I struck up a discussion with a shuttle bus (lorry?) driver on a recent business trip to England! I had no idea! What's next, will you being following MLS?

I'm not entirely sure why a lot of Brits have taken a sudden liking to the nfl, I jut started watching it because my dad does and loved it straight away, even though at the time I had no idea what was going on. Disappointed I didn't get tickets for any of the games at wembley for next season.