A&H

Hamstring

Frank

Level 5 Referee
I have been a referee for over 30 years, and have been fortunate to have had very few injuries, however two weeks ago I felt a slight pull on my hamstring. I rested it for a week, and thought it was ok, but it went again on Saturday. I have never had a hamstring injury before, and wondered how long it will take to recover?

The Referee Store
From what you say, I'd suggest 4-6 weeks.

From how you describe it it sounds like a partial tear, where a few strands of muscle fibre tear, bleed and then start to recover.

Obviously while they recover they are weak, so in the second occurrence the repairing tissue has re-torn, starting the process again.

It's rest only I'm afraid, for 4-6 weeks. Once you re-start activity ensure your warm up is through and you do plenty of jogging before stretching the hamstring out to prevent re-occurrence.

Hope that helps.

Try to get some physio treatment to properly assess the extent of the injury and test the hamstring. For example, do you get any discomfort when you gentle stretch the muscle at present?

I've suffered a little with hamstrings in the past but the more often than not my issue is neural and is referred pain from my lower back and weak core muscles rather than the actual hamstring.

Having suffered from a torn hamstring in the past, rest, rest, rest, rest and then rest some more.

Unfortunately it's a difficult injury to speed up the healing time. I saw a physio once a week for 6 months, that's how long it took to gain full strength.

Hopefully you haven't done any serious damage, but rest is key. At least a month I'd say