A&H

First match in over a year!

JoeLatics

Just for context, I'm now a 4th year University student. I'd been involved in reffing in the University's Intra Mural league in my 2nd year, but last year was extremely busy so I simply didn't have the time. This year I have a little more free time this year so decided to get involved again in the league. Got my appointment for Blues vs Whites through in the week, so went in today mostly worrying about whether I was still fit enough to ref a full 90 minute match!

I think the match went pretty well overall, both teams seemed fairly happy at the end, with the game having finished 2-2.

I certainly need to have a little think about my positioning (generally I did well at not being in the way, but all too often wasn't in a position where I was able to see what was going on!), particularly in the absence of ARs (or even CARs!) in this league. The problem was especially when the ball was getting close to the touchlines/goal lines; the lines weren't painted very well so it was quite hard to see from even 10-15 yards away. Not entirely sure what I could do about that short of standing off the pitch to see!! Will make a point to mention to the captains that it'll be difficult for me to see these, and that I'll assume the ball has remained in play unless it's completely obvious to me that it hasn't.