A&H

End of season review

2022/23 Final!
Middles: 12.5! AR: 7
Yellow: 38 Sin Bins: 4 Red: 5 Penalties: 4?

Just over 3 yellows a game is fairly consistent with previous seasons for me, but everything else has interesting aspects!

20 games total is way down on most other seasons I've been a referee, but it's also one of the first times in years where I've been confident that I'm happy to continue next season without any hint of doubt. 3-4 games a month (not counting many games I had booked but were called off over the winter) is definitely my sweet spot and I know that if I just don't worry about climbing the ladder for another season, I can sign up for a similar quantity and be happy.

First time I've ever had to stop a game mid-way through - stand by the decision to start as I think we would have gotten through the game with no further rain, but a heavy downpour at around 25 minutes caused the surface to go downhill. One of my reds was in that game: a player who slid in with no control and put his studs into an opponents knee, then another player going flying with noone else near him a few minutes before half time and I knew we had to call it.

That did end a run of red cards though - went most of the season with just 1 on my tally from an early game, then had the last 4 in just 5 matches, plus witnessing 2 from the line in that run as well. I'm happy with all the calls, but think I certainly could have bottled at least 2 of them down to yellows in previous seasons, so that feels like improvement for me.

Overall, not very impressive stats, but a season that feels like it went really well for me aside from a failed attempt at the promotion scheme. Looking forward to the next one!

The Referee Store
⚽️ 204
Middles: 168
A/R’s: 36
🔴: 11
🟡: 43