A&H

Diversity

micky2001

I was wondering if there has ever been a black or openly gay referee/assistant at the top flight in any of the UK leagues. I certainly haven't heard of any but was just wondering?

I know that there are 2 female assistants (FIFA I might add) who officiate in Scotland at the top level.

The Referee Store
In answer to the OP question, yes there has but why does it matter? I'm not going to name names but the people I know made it to the top (or are still on their way there) based on their ability as a referee/assistant.

Uriah Rennie certainly falls into one of those categories. Great ref too.
I'm assessing tomorrow at the ground where Uri is Club President. Never seen him at a game yet despite visiting regularly in the last 5 seasons.

Last edited by a moderator:
@Brian Hamilton doesnt matter at all - I think if you are capable enough then you should be given equal chance and opportunity. I'm currently studying diversity and equality as a module at university in places such as parliament etc where there appears to me to be a white heterosexual male dominance.

I was just wanting to see how diverse refereeing was throughout the uk as I feel I may consider it as part of my dissertation if there is an "under representation"

The only thing that should matter is the referees ability and performance. I assess referees frequently and the colour of their skin or their sexuality does not concern me.

@Brian Hamilton doesnt matter at all - I think if you are capable enough then you should be given equal chance and opportunity. I'm currently studying diversity and equality as a module at university in places such as parliament etc where there appears to me to be a white heterosexual male dominance.

I was just wanting to see how diverse refereeing was throughout the uk as I feel I may consider it as part of my dissertation if there is an "under representation"