RefSix

You Are The Ref! - Again - Sorry!

PinnerPaul

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
Just to reassure (or embarrass) me!

Latest one I disagree with Mr Hackett over!

Question concerns a GK who punches the ball (Legally, in his own PA) and the ball ends up in oppo net (Yes, yes I know a TAD! unlikely) - no other player touches it on the way.

Mr Hackett says goal? Looking at LOTG, it specifically states that a GK can't throw the ball in oppo net and score but doesn't mention punching, but surely same applies - its a GK....isn't it?!!!!
 

JamesL

RefChat Addict
Level 4 Referee
 the question is not is a goal awarded. It is clear it is not
It is an offence if a player:
scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if
accidental, including by the goalkeeper

The question is, if this crazy scenario were to happen, what is the restart?

Penalty and caution to keeper anyone? 😂
 

Dan56

New Member
Level 7 Referee
 the question is not is a goal awarded. It is clear it is not
It is an offence if a player:
scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if
accidental, including by the goalkeeper

The question is, if this crazy scenario were to happen, what is the restart?

Penalty and caution to keeper anyone? 😂
No, it is quite clear in Law 10:

"If the goalkeeper throws the ball directly into the opponents’ goal, a goal kick is
awarded."

I reckon this would also cover punching the ball. And a goalkeeper cannot be carded for any handling offences in their own PA
 

Martiju

Well-Known Member
Level 6 Referee
 the question is not is a goal awarded. It is clear it is not
It is an offence if a player:
scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if
accidental, including by the goalkeeper

The question is, if this crazy scenario were to happen, what is the restart?

Penalty and caution to keeper anyone? 😂
:) my restart is a GK - after allowing all the applause to die down first and the opposing keeper to walk away in shame.
 

SW20

New Member
Level 7 Referee
 the question is not is a goal awarded. It is clear it is not
It is an offence if a player:
scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if
accidental, including by the goalkeeper

The question is, if this crazy scenario were to happen, what is the restart?

Penalty and caution to keeper anyone? 😂

Would it not be a goal kick? Like when a throw in goes directly into the opposition's net. Crazy scenario anyway!
 

PinnerPaul

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
Thanks all,

On granddaughter babysitting duties all day yesterday (Child care bubble!) so that doesn't allow much time for discussions such as this!:)

Its a 2018 book, so my fault really, I had no idea that it was a relatively recent change that prevented GKs scoring using their hands!:eek:
 

JamesL

RefChat Addict
Level 4 Referee
Thanks all,

On granddaughter babysitting duties all day yesterday (Child care bubble!) so that doesn't allow much time for discussions such as this!:)

Its a 2018 book, so my fault really, I had no idea that it was a relatively recent change that prevented GKs scoring using their hands!:eek:
Yeh. It was a sort of tongue in cheek comment. I knew the answer wasn't pen and YC but I didnt know it was a GK until pointed out. It's what i would have plumped for in a test though.
 
Top