A&H

Whistles

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanTattersall

I am a relatively new referee and was wondering what whistles everyone uses, currently using a cheap pea whistle provided by my local FA.

The Referee Store
I find the Fox 40 is the cheapest while being very reliable in terms of construction and durability. I have the 40 classic as well as the pearl and prefer the classic. There are some other nice whistles, but also much more expensive than the Fox 40.

Last edited:
the fox pearl is a horrible sounding whistle
Agreed! I keep it around as a spare when I have to referee a game and there are 3 fields basically side by side. That way, the players can distinguish my whistle from the other games going on in close proximity.

Ive got a couple of Fox 40 Classics, plus I had a Fox 40 mini, but didn't like it. I got the SonikBlast and whilst it took a little getting used to, its my go to whistle now.

I have used a fox 40 sharx for the last 4 years as my primary which has been a great whistle and just a touch different in pitch from most other whistles to avoid field confusion at tourneys.

I just dropped the cash on a Valkeen this season and must say. I LOVE that whistle! Definitely too pricey for someone starting out though

I have used a fox 40 sharx for the last 4 years as my primary which has been a great whistle and just a touch different in pitch from most other whistles to avoid field confusion at tourneys.

I just dropped the cash on a Valkeen this season and must say. I LOVE that whistle! Definitely too pricey for someone starting out though
great whistle but i agree too expensive for a newbie, incase refereeing isnt for them

fox40 classic with cushioned mouth guard for me.

I have a valkeen, which is an awesome whistle (bit pricey if you're just starting out), but these days I only brings that out when I'm at a venue with multiple games going on in close proximity to each other