A&H

When new laws come into effect

WalterPinkman

Hi All,

As I am fairly new to refereeing, this is my first change over of seasons. I have a tournament on the 25th June and was just wondering if I apply the 2015-16 law or whether we start with the new laws. If not when do the new 2016-17 laws come into effect?

The Referee Store
In principle, the new laws came in on 1st June. However, check at the tournament, as every tournament has slightly different interpretation of The Laws. For example, "no indirect free-kicks - everything is direct" is a typical example (so when that keeper drop-kicks the ball he gives away a penalty - ouch).

Just finished my last tournament of the season, they do have their own tournament rules but i did use the new one arm advantage rule, so do check ......

In principle, the new laws came in on 1st June. However, check at the tournament, as every tournament has slightly different interpretation of The Laws. For example, "no indirect free-kicks - everything is direct" is a typical example (so when that keeper drop-kicks the ball he gives away a penalty - ouch).
Drop-kicking the ball is an offence?

Drop-kicking the ball is an offence?

In some tournaments. My Mrs was playing in a 7 aside tournament over the weekend and keepers couldn't do drop kicks, so when they caught the ball they either had to throw it, or roll it out of the area and kick it.

Typically U11 and upwards cannot drop-kick. And I was at a tournament a couple of weeks ago where I had to give a penalty (U14's) because the keeper forgot. Fortunately he saved the penalty, but boy did he hold his head in shame the moment he kicked that ball.

Typically U11 and upwards cannot drop-kick. And I was at a tournament a couple of weeks ago where I had to give a penalty (U14's) because the keeper forgot. Fortunately he saved the penalty, but boy did he hold his head in shame the moment he kicked that ball.